OkuStim® TherapyPreserving your vision.

The OkuStim therapy was developed for patients with degenerative retinal diseases such as retinitis pigmentosa. You can use it to slow down the progression of the disease. The core of the therapy is the OkuStim system, with which you stimulate your retina independently and at home with weak electrical currents.

OkuStim Therapy

Learn more about electrostimulation with the OkuStim system

OkuStim Therapy

Clinical studies

Learn more about the efficacy and safety of the OkuStim therapy

Clinical studies

Where to get it

Find your way to the OkuStim therapy here

Where to get it

How to use theOkuStim system

The OkuStim system consists of the neurostimulator OkuStim, the electrode holder OkuSpex and the OkuEl electrodes. You place these hair-thin electrodes on the lower edge of the eyelid. With the help of the OkuSpex, the electrodes are held in place for the duration of the treatment. Via the OkuSpex, the electrodes are connected to the OkuStim, which controls the current. The stimulation parameters are set individually for each patient by the doctor. The treatment is carried out once a week for half an hour.

Application

News


This is why electrostimulationhelps you

In degenerative retinal diseases such as retinitis pigmentosa, choroideremia, Usher syndrome and cone-rod dystrophy, the light-sensitive nerve cells in the retina gradually decay. As a result, vision becomes increasingly constricted. The aim of electrostimulation is to keep the remaining nerve cells functioning for as long as possible. Scientific studies show that weak electrical currents stimulate the metabolism of the nerve cells and elicit protective effects. Clinical studies show that with such strengthened nerve cells, the degeneration processes in the retina can at least be slowed down.

Clinical studies

This is your path to the treatment

Therapy with the OkuStim system requires a prescription. If your ophthalmologist determines that electrostimulation is an option for you, he or she can write you a prescription for it. Specialists with extensive experience with the therapy called “TES” (TES stands for transcorneal electrostimulation) can be found here. You can then order the OkuStim system from a qualified optician. They will instruct you in the handling.
If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We would be happy to hear from you!
At present, OkuStim therapy is not universally covered by the health insurance funds. Reimbursement is therefore a case-by-case decision that you have to clarify with your health insurance company. The reimbursement situation differs from country to country. Please talk to our local OkuStim affiliates for detailed information related to your country.

What the users say

All user portraits

"

Retinitis Pigmentosa: keeping active is the key

Being active against the everyday limitations and in slowing down the disease – this has been the right way for Ines to deal with the disease since her early years.

“For me, the method is plausible and makes sense. And the study results so far are promising. I am not chasing a stand-still by all means, but I believe that my disease will progress more slowly with the treatment,” she is convinced.

Read more

OkuStim®-TherapieSehen erhalten.

Die OkuStim-Therapie wurde für Patienten mit degenerativen Netzhaut-Erkrankungen wie Retinitis pigmentosa entwickelt. Sie können damit ein Fortschreiten der Erkrankung verlangsamen. Kern der Therapie ist das OkuStim-System, mit dem Sie selbstständig und zuhause Ihre Netzhaut mit schwachen elektrischen Strömen stimulieren.

Die OkuStim-Therapie

Erfahren Sie alles über die transkorneale Elektrostimulation mit dem OkuStim-System

OkuStim-Therapie

Klinische Studien

Erfahren Sie mehr über Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit der OkuStim-Therapie

Klinische Studien

Bezugsquellen

Hier finden Sie Ihren Weg zur OkuStim-Therapie

Bezugsquellen

So wenden Sie dasOkuStim-System an

Das OkuStim-System besteht aus dem Neurostimulator OkuStim, der Elektrodenhalterung OkuSpex und den OkuEl-Elektroden. Diese haarfeinen Elektroden legen Sie am unteren Lidrand auf das Auge. Mithilfe der OkuSpex werden die Elektroden hier für die Behandlungsdauer fixiert. Über die OkuSpex sind die Elektroden mit dem OkuStim verbunden, das die Stromführung steuert. Die Werte dafür werden vom Arzt für jeden Patienten individuell voreingestellt. Standardmäßig führen Sie die Behandlung einmal die Woche eine halbe Stunde lang durch.

Anwendung

News


Deshalb hilft Ihnendie Elektrostimulation

Bei degenerativen Netzhauterkrankungen wie Retinitis pigmentosa, Choroideremie, Usher-Syndrom und Zapfen-Stäbchen Dystrophie sterben nach und nach die lichtempfindlichen Nervenzellen in der Netzhaut ab. Dadurch wird die Sehfähigkeit zunehmend eingeschränkt. Ziel der Elektrostimulation ist es, die verbleibenden Nervenzellen möglichst lange funktionsfähig zu halten. Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zeigen, dass schwache elektrische Ströme den Stoffwechsel der Nervenzellen und schützende Wirkungen anregen. Klinische Studien zeigen, dass mit derart gestärkten Nervenzellen die Degenerationsprozesse in der Netzhaut zumindest verlangsamt werden können.

Klinische Studien

Das ist Ihr Weg zur Anwendung

Die Therapie mit dem OkuStim-System ist verschreibungspflichtig. Stellt der Augenarzt fest, dass eine Elektrostimulation für Sie infrage kommt, kann er Ihnen ein entsprechendes Rezept ausstellen. Fachärzte mit umfangreicher Erfahrung mit der „TES“ genannten Therapie (TES steht für transkorneale Elektrostimulation) finden Sie hier. Das OkuStim-System bestellen Sie dann bei entsprechend qualifizierten Augenoptikern. Diese weisen Sie in den Gebrauch ein.
Haben Sie weitere Fragen, können Sie uns natürlich auch gerne direkt ansprechen, wir freuen uns, wenn Sie Kontakt aufnehmen!

Zurzeit gehört die OkuStim-Therapie noch nicht zur Regelversorgung der Krankenkassen. Die Kostenerstattung ist deshalb eine Einzelfallentscheidung, die Sie mit Ihrer Krankenkasse klären müssen. Es gibt mehrere Anlaufstellen, die Sie dabei unterstützen.

Das sagen Anwender

Alle Anwenderportraits

"

Retinitis Pigmentosa: aktiv sein ist die Devise

Aktiv sein gegen die alltäglichen Einschränkungen und beim Ausbremsen der Krankheit – das ist für Ines seit jungen Jahren der richtige Weg, mit der Krankheit umzugehen.

„Für mich ist die Methode plausibel und sinnvoll. Und die bisherigen Studienergebnisse sind vielversprechend. Ich versteife mich nicht auf einen Stillstand, glaube jedoch, dass meine Erkrankung durch die Behandlung langsamer voranschreitet.“

 

Weiterlesen